Tuesday, January 6, 2015

The 2015 Hall of Fame Results Are In

The results of the 2015 National Baseball Hall of Fame elections are in and Congratulations go to Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, John Smoltz and FINALLY Craig Biggio. Welcome to Cooperstown gentlemen.

Here is the breakdown of the votes from the Baseball Writers Association of America:

Ballots Cast: 549
Needed for Election: 412
534Randy Johnson97.3%
500Pedro Martinez91.1%
455John Smoltz82.9%
454Craig Biggio82.7%
384Mike Piazza69.9%
306Jeff Bagwell55.7%
302Tim Raines55.0%
215Curt Schilling39.2%
206Roger Clemens37.5%
202Barry Bonds36.8%
166Lee Smith30.2%
148Edgar Martinez27.0%
138Alan Trammell25.1%
135Mike Mussina24.6%
77Jeff Kent14.0%
71Fred McGriff12.9%
65Larry Walker11.8%
64Gary Sheffield11.7%
55Mark McGwire10.0%
50Don Mattingly9.1%
36Sammy Sosa6.6%
30Nomar Garciaparra5.5%
21Carlos Delgado3.8%
4Troy Percival0.7%
2Aaron Boone0.4%
2Tom Gordon0.4%
1Darin Erstad0.2%
0Rich Aurilia0.0%
0Tony Clark0.0%
0Jermaine Dye0.0%
0Cliff Floyd0.0%
0Brian Giles0.0%
0Eddie Guardado0.0%
0Jason Schmidt0.0%
*All candidates in italics received less than 5% of the vote on ballots cast and will be removed from future BBWAA consideration

I'll take a more indepth look at the ballot in my next post. Again, congratulations to the 2015 Hall of Famers Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio.

Until Then Keep Playing Ball,
Baseball Sisco